This Day

You remind me of this day
Bluish-green feelings along the way
At first I remember and the smile eases the sun’s ray
But I told you last, I didn’t love you anyway

Seagulls calling on misty breeze lane
Daylight becomes nightfall in plain clothing shame
Sapphire waves claim loyalty to the gentleman caller game
Even a tippy-toe juvy knows the rules of the lion’s mane

You remind me of this day
Butterscotch afternoons were hazy with malaise
I can still recall the glance from the second store yesterday
Wrought-iron visual, callous facial display

Ah, the stars are twinkling and winking just for me, I say
I play fool to their wicked heart-warming disarray
I carved your name in soft petals, metal gray
But I told you first, I’d love you always

Jemfyr

5 Comments

  1. Sam said,

    July 26, 2009 at 3:59 am

    Lyrical, heartfelt, with a twinge of sadness. I can feel that.

  2. StormSage said,

    August 19, 2009 at 1:44 am

    I really love this one; It made me feel – which I believe is what poetry is all about (allowing others to feel through beautiful words).

  3. September 4, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Dare I Give My Interpretation? Love’s Potent Message of One Left Behind? A Circle in Life where the Ocean Calls the Lover? Perhaps I am wrong, but if so, being wrong may still be alright.
    Thank you Jemfyr for your wonderful lyrical story of a colorful reflection of Love.

    • jemfyr said,

      September 6, 2009 at 7:28 am

      Thank you so much for the lovely, heartfelt comment on my poem, This Day. Your insight is a pure delight. Yes, love’s potent message of one left behind, remembering, reflecting. Love the way you depicted the ocean calling the lover.

  4. Cheryl said,

    September 26, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    This is fitting for me right now and so beautifully written. 🙂


Leave a Reply

