Safari Life

Safari life is tribal toned
tall grass swaying
while paw and hoove roam

Fires built where no embers burn
flame, quick and the wit, verses
young and the naive dip at cool lake’s turn

Safari life is outside your front door
passerby greeters with furrow looks adorned
rather be judged by your leather-bound cover cure

Scale me a wall windowed each footed step a seed
our jungle can moonlight as a garden dream it to be
step out from behind the rooted safari reeds

Jemfyr

4 Comments

  1. Jamie Spencer said,

    August 30, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Very well composed. Interesting mix of verse.
    you might like my stuff http://jamiespencer.wordpress.com

  2. Hoboprophet said,

    August 31, 2009 at 12:08 am

    This poem is amazing. What u have written is the exact images I have when I imagine life in a hobos jungle. I even furrow my brow unbelievably when I ask myself,

    How is life beyond the jungle?

    Thanks for putting your heart to the keys… .From the heart, to many hearts!

    If you and your loyal readers ever feel like a hobo, well then, listen to this song at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19gDpkfN_Zo

    oxox,
    Hp

  3. Semaphore said,

    August 31, 2009 at 6:38 am

    I’ve always said that poetry is metaphor, and `Safari Life`is a good example of a metaphor that captures the mood you want to convey perfectly. Interesting perspective, well done!

  4. Blanca said,

    January 5, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Hey babe, had insomnia and I decided to pay you a visit. Love your blog. And I really loved this post. Have a way with words….I actually felt it. Loved it!
    xoxo
    Blanca


Leave a Reply

